Tony Maskens receives prestigious award

Monday 27th November 2017
The Fire & Security Association (FSA) Awards 22nd November 2017
Please Note
This is archived news from a previous version of the BAFE website. Links, images and downloads may no longer be accessible.

On Wednesday 22nd November, former BAFE Technical Schemes Manager Tony Maskens received the illustrious Ian Marsh Fire Award. This award recognises individuals within the fire and emergency systems industry who have demonstrated enormous enthusiasm and commitment to improving this sector.

Up until his retirement in 2016, Tony held a significant role at BAFE developing industry standards that support British Standards within the fire industry. His efforts and hard work have helped BAFE schemes grow and become technically stronger with the support of UKAS accredited third party certification bodies. This in turn has created better working practices within specific areas of the fire safety industry.

BAFE are extremely proud to see Tony receive this award. Stephen Adams, Chief Executive at BAFE, stated:

“Tony has made a significant contribution to BAFE and the wider fire protection industry with his tireless involvement in scheme development and support for the principles of third party certification. His efforts being acknowledged within the fire safety arena is a huge honour and thoroughly deserved. He has dedicated a substantial amount of his career in helping make the fire industry considerably safer.”

The BAFE team extends our congratulations to Tony.


The Fire & Security Association (FSA) Awards were presented at the IFSEC Security and Fire Excellence Awards 22nd November 2017. The FSA awards are supported by industry bodies including BAFE, NSI (National Security Inspectorate), SSAIB (Security Systems and Alarms Inspection Board) and the FPA (Fire Protection Association). Representatives from the FSA, the ECA, SELECT, the NSI and the SSAIB were among the Judges assessing the nominations for the two individual awards (Ian Marsh Fire Award and Peter Greenwood Security Award).

The FSA consists of members of the ECA (Electrical Contractors' Association). The ECA core membership is exclusively made up of businesses from across the building services and engineering sector that are involved with the design, installation and maintenance of electrical and electrotechnical systems.

Image credit:

www.securityandfireawards.comBeyond Media Services